Mage or Enchanter - Selo Server - OOW through End Game - Which one to play?

Discussion in 'Casters' started by Midnitewolf, Sep 5, 2019.

1. Midnitewolf Augur

I need help deciding between a Chanter or Mage for a main. I have played a Chanter to 53 on another server and after the double XP weekend, have a newly minted 65 Mage on Selo so I have some experience with both but I really don’t know how either class hold up over the long run. Since Selo is a fast progression server, level 100+ will be here in no time so I really want to make sure I am making the right choice for the long run.

Chanter likes and dislikes: I really enjoyed the control, low down time, active playstyle and powerful charmed pets on the chanter. I also liked how you always had the power to sway a bad situation into a good one. On the other hand, disliked the fact that you always had to be hyper-vigilant when playing a chanter with no ability to ever afk, take a break or anything due to the nature of how charm worked. I also hate that your non-charmed pet was useless due to being unable to attack with it. I also disliked that your entire DPS was in the toilet unless you used a charmed pet.

From the future perspective I had heard that in the near future, charm gets a massive nerf effectively removing your access to a super powerful pet which is the only thing that makes the hassle of charming a pet worth it. However, I have heard they get exceptionally powerful again, only to finally get severely nerfed toward the very late game around level 100+. Honestly the reports of how powerful/fun chanters are in the future are all over the place so it is hard to judge if they will be good or bad in the long run.