Is SOE Doing Anything about Krono Resellers?

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Zandal, Jan 9, 2014.

1. Zandal Lorekeeper

Seems like SOE is losing money on their Krono system at this point, since resellers such as Illicit group 1, Illicit group 2, and the other resellers are selling for less than what SOE is.

Has there been discussion as to how to shut these guys down? As an attorney, I am aware of past litigation between game manufacturers and gamers claiming virtual property rights, but isn't there a way to shutdown these guys? Krono prices have skyrocketed and are out-of-control. Why pay SOE for a Krono, when I can get one from a reseller for far less? The EULA is one option, but what about a disclaimer saying that Kronos have no cash value and reselling them for $ will be a violation of the EULA?

I know for a fact that we have a reseller on Xegony. He attempted to extort myself an others to stay out-of-the-market on Xegony for a 4 Krono/Month Fee. Surely there is a way for SOE to shut this down. If someone from legal would like to contact me to brainstorm, I'd be all for it. However, I do think the no cash value disclaimer is one option.

-Removed the names, they don't need the advertising. Or they might but I don't want to give it to them. - Piestro
  2. Qest T. Silverclaw Augur

I suspect they're cheering and celebrating.
    Xianzu_Monk_Tunare and Axxius like this.
  3. Fanra https://everquest.fanra.info

Do you mean he offered to pay you 4 Krono a month to stay out of the market? I believe that would be a bribe, not extortion. You say you are an attorney, so I'm puzzled why you would use the wrong term.
    Bearforce and Xianzu_Monk_Tunare like this.
  4. JacklSK Augur

read that to be "pay me 4/month or ill badger you until you stop interfering with my scam"
  5. Fanra https://everquest.fanra.info

Ok.

Still..../ignore?
  6. Axxius Augur