If I started playing EQ today...

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Will Power, Jan 5, 2015.

1. Will Power New Member

as a Free to play member how far can I progress with out paying a Sub?
  2. Lighteningrod Augur

Depends upon what your definition of "how far" is.

Without paying for a subscription, I've had 9 Silver accounts for over 3 years since FTP was launched. I've leveled 10 characters to various levels between 80 - 90 and up to 4500 AAs. I have been extremely pleased working my way through various Achievements, the Hero's Journey, and older content I didn't get to see before. All at an average cost of $1.70 per month per account in un-lockers and a few housing trinkets. This is an average cost per month per account. Out-of-pocket expenses vary from $50.00 to $100.00 in a lump sum to capitalize upon Station Cash sales for whichever accounts need something the most, usually AA un-lockers.

Without paying for **anything** at all, ever again, including un-lockers. Not very. I wouldn't even bother unless you plan to re-roll alts 1 - 55 indefinitely.
  3. Brohg Augur

Content isn't subscription-locked. Without purchasing the expansion, you can go to level 100, and do content through Rain of Fear expansion. That's fourteen years worth of game there, or was if you warped back to play it as it released :p If you do purchase the expansion, you can go to level 105 and do all content including Call of the Forsaken and The Darkened Sea. All without subscribing.

What you will not be able to do without subscribing is train all your AA, or equip Prestige-tagged gear, or employ a good mercenary. These things are variously limiting based on the class chosen, especially vis-a-vis the "no Prestige" thing hitting tanks hard.
    Xianzu_Monk_Tunare likes this.
  4. Will Power New Member

How many levels were there originally?