I have never tried everquest, i come from Darkage of camelot

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Yems, Oct 23, 2019.

1. Yems New Member

Hello, i am yet to create my first character, what makes everquest different from other old mmos out there? :)

I instantly fell in love with the many choices of races and classes, i realise its and old game, but i want to at least give everquest a try, regardless of its age.

I think i would like to try out pvp, what server can you guys recommend, and any good guilds for total newbs?
  2. Oakenblade Former ForumQuest Champion

Sad to say (from what I've heard) the PVP game doesn't get much lovin'.

There's no way to say everything there is to say about the game given its age and its evolution without writing a book. But if you wanna learn a bit about the background of EQ - here's a good video to watch.

3. Gana Augur

There's not really much of a PvP presence in EQ. Since you are a true EQ newb, I would try several classes to see which you like best. Once you have chosen your SK, then go through the tutorial (if it exists on your server). Use a tank merc for the first...oh, 50-60 levels (again, if it exists on your server). I like to level in Original and Kunark zones (mobs have fewer HPs and don't hit as hard), but most will tell you to follow the Hero's Path (or whatever it is called). Any server will have a guild that will help new players. Don't be afraid to ask questions as most players are happy to help. Welcome to Everquest.
    skattabrainz likes this.
  4. xmPradah Not a dude

What you chose, class and server wise, is going to largely depend on what you're looking to get out of the game, and your playstyle.
    If you're looking to socialize, a progression server may be the way to go - probably Mangler would be a good choice, since it's still only in the 2nd expansion and good population, and the progression is slower.