I can't solo. I'm not stupid? The right tactics have elluded me.

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Abhorash, Feb 1, 2023.

1. Abhorash New Member

Hello. I play Abhorash on Fennin Ro. I love my Shadow Knight. I'm new to EQ and think it's great. However, I am struggling so hard to accomplish anything. When my friends are online things go great. We quest together and have fun. When I'm soloing it seems impossible to do anything. I can't even make it to a level 60 hot zone at level 58 with my pet and merc healer without getting annihilated by mere pumas who are 11 levels lower than me! I know it's me. I'm not combining my powers correctly. So many of my spells seem ambiguous or useless. I can't seem to find a comprehensive guide (that isn't p99) so I hope to learn some strategies for my level that will allow me to progress and have fun. What can I do? What are some strong spell and or weapon combinations that will help me actually kill things? By comparison my Berserker alt is catching up fast. With much worse gear and only needs a healer merc to let him chop things up. Help me master SK. Please excuse me if I fail to reply timely. Thank you.
    Buck Fiden likes this.
  2. Loup Garou De loop de loop

3. Iven the Lunatic

The pumas and all the other animals in Blackfeather Roost can be undercons but they do reveal their power by the adjectives in the NPC names. Be carefull with healthy and cunning pumas.
    • First check your gear and keep it updated. Defiant gear until lvl 70. Also buy rings, earrings and a necklace from the Plane of Knowledge (PoK) vendor near the Crescent Reach stone. Rough Defiant is good enough for jewelry items if you are short on platinum coins. Use at least Ornate Defiant and Flawed Defiant for body armor pieces at level 60.
    • Use a good shield+1H weapon for hard mobs. Create bandolier sets and hotbuttons for that (Shift-B).