Considering Bard for Selo's

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Khalifa Kush, Feb 19, 2019.

1. Khalifa Kush Lorekeeper

Hey all,

I'm fairly experienced with EQ however I'm completely new to the bard class. I wanted to see what all of the hype was about with bards being in demand for each raid group? If our DPS is awful and other classes are superior with mana & health regen along with attack speed buffs...mezzing (enchanters).

Why do we need bards? And don't tell me "at level ??? bards get 1 song that helps melee groups and 1 song that helps caster groups....

I understand if I play this role I'll be in charge of pulls. That's just something I'll need to learn on the fly. Is it hard?
  2. Sengir New Member

Depends on the era. At first, raids love bards becuase of resist songs. Those are a huge boon to tanks and melees. Also, the mana song in very important for casters. Of course they have a lot of other songs to help most roles, but at first it is mostly mana and resists.
    Later they get pretty awesome adps songs and AAs, both for melee and casters, and the mana/hp song is raid AE, so only one bard has to sing it.

In general bards start being really good and useful and they get better and better as expansions unlocks. Most groups love to get a bard, and most raid leaders would say they'd have a bard in each group if possible.

About pulling. Bards are great pullers, and their basic pulling mechanism (lull) is really easy, so you should be able to get a grasp pretty soon. From there, there are still a lot of tricks of the trade to learn, as a bard puller, but in general they are way easier than a monk as their toolset once they get fade is really strong.