Complete noob to EQ1, class suggestions?

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by Sayleann, Mar 24, 2017.

1. Sayleann New Member

The Heroic Event on the normal servers and general good feelings I had on the EQ2 TLP back when it first launched had me look into EQ1 which I played briefly growing up.

I generally stick with more support classes in other MMOs but I like to hold my own when I'm leveling.

My gut feeling says go with Bard though my uncle played Paladin way back in the day so I'm tempted to try that out as well. Any suggestions and newbie links I might miss would be appreciated~
  2. Ultrazen Augur

As a first character, I would recommend against going with something that is reliant on gear to perform. That includes every melee class other than monk. Paladins, Shadow Knights, Warriors, Rangers, Rogues, and to some extent Bards, are all *very* dependent on gear. It's not impossible to level them fresh on a server, but I wouldn't wish it on someone trying to get a handle on the game. It also tends to be a position of a lot more responsibility, if you play a tank class, another thing that isn't a great idea.

EQ is a pretty unforgiving game, especially early on with crappy gear. Even veteran players struggle early on with melee classes.

I'd suggest Druid. You'll be able to do a bit of everything, and it's a good class to get a feel for the game with. You have some healing, some decent damage, some run speed spells (very important early on), snare (which is incredibly important early on), and you'll be able to teleport yourself and others around, which can make you some money and is just plain handy.

At the end of the day, go with whatever class appeals to you, but in general, any of the casting classes are much easier to start out with on a new server, as most of their power comes from the spells you buy, instead of the gear you find. Gear in classic, is literally horrible at best so....melee classes tend to struggle early on.