Aging eyes need better compasses and maps

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Gentsia, Feb 11, 2022.

1. Gentsia Apprentice

I've been playing for 20 years (ack!). I've had cataract surgery and my close up vision is not the same. I have so much trouble reading the map and compass, as in I can't even see where my group is. I've made the compass dark...can't do much else with it. I've made my hotbars bigger I've changed the font. Those help with the rest of the UI, but the compass...seriously. And the map this expansion ToL in particular, I have a hard time seeing the lines and the players and even my own X. I have played with tint, texture, alpha, faded, my color, group color...and i cannot see the dang tunnels in Umbral! I can't see where group is in like Shadow Valley or Bloodfalls. On raids, they are calling move North! Northwest! and I can't see the compass...i just have to follow and I am not someone to ever miss emotes or not move.

Any suggestions? In CoV and ToV i turned gamma way down to see and turned off some stuff in advanced display and it helped.

I use the default UI; no need to worry about patches. I do use MANY options the UI offers of which most people are unaware. I use /viewport for instance, assign icons to hotbuttons, etc.
    Shindius and Fenthen like this.
  2. Fenthen aka Rath

You can check out modded windows, compasses and such, from EQInterface.
    Shindius, Strumph and Svann2 like this.
  3. Herf Augur

The game in general really needs to invest in us long time players. The sole font size change doesn't affect all use of fonts in the game and offers extremely limited choices.
    Shindius likes this.
  4. Fanra https://everquest.fanra.info

5. brickz Augur

Windows key and + key brings up the magnifier if you weren't using it already
    Pelrond, Nennius and Fenthen like this.
  6. Deckerd Smeckerd Augur

2022 Roadmap:
    • January: