A new Everquest... (warning long)

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Raynrace, Dec 6, 2017.

1. Raynrace Augur

A little background- I've been playing EQ since early May of 1999 (I have taken a few breaks here and there). I have been in a family guild a raid guild and a hardcore guild experiencing most of the downfalls and perks of each of the playing situations.

With that said, I have some opinions and ideas (as most of us do). EQ live is a little out of date and control with a lot of the same over and over. It almost seems like DBG is trying to fix the game on the back end and that is one massive task that I believe isn't doable and it creates a lot of issues with the player base. I applaud the effort and I know the developers catch a lot of crap from the community including me. DBG has done a lot with TLP servers in attempts to keep EQ going and I respect all of those things. I would like to take this moment to say thank you for all of your efforts even though at times it doesn't feel that way. That happens with a group of people who love their game.

What I would like to do is explain an idea for EQ that is new... but isn't... Before I go any further, I fully understand that what I am proposing isn't just a few mouse clicks and code adjusting, I know its a lot more than that but with the state of the game I believe EQ could be revived for well over a decade with this idea.

The idea is to have the balance and vision in place at the start. EQ has been made and purchased over and over and everyone's vision is different. One of the biggest problems I see in EQ is the devaluation of old content that forces players to play at a pace that they might not want to play and losing the experience of what EQ "was" or falling far behind. TLP servers do help this some but its repeating the same mistakes the live game already has...

So lets get down to it...

Release the original EQ with the addition of a new POK and some changes.