Advice from others with limited time

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by FL!P, Feb 14, 2023.

1. FL!P Augur

Hey guys, I have been playing EQ since 2000. I absolutely love the game and want to play, I just have no idea how to play. It is one of the only mmos that truly captures alot of what I like in a game. But seems hard in my life to carve out much time. My life recently got pretty busy, and i find it hard to get online for extended periods of time, def hard to commit to raid nights because something always seems to happen, or by the time i get home from worked im just to smoked to care to log in.

That said how do you guys with limited play time play? I love the relaxing feeling of EQ and mostly the nostalgia. I tried 3 boxing and it just burns me out, I absolutely hated it. The only way I really enjoy the game is just playing one character, but im always solo so I hate having to rely on others for buffs / ports lol. I do not mind grouping and very much enjoy it, but the time it takes to usually find one and get there eats at alot of my time. Also once you get up in levels its hard to accomplish much with a 30 minute to hour long grind session here and there it feels.

The focus of progression with EQ seems to be raids though, which is something I just really cant do. The game is fun when i am by myself piddling, but when I have to sync up with 30-40 other people in a 4 hour window it becomes rather frustrating. Most people here feels like they have no life, so they enjoy the fellowship and taking there time and dragging out events. (not an insult). Where I have a busy life, and am not here for the social aspect, but rather purely progression.

So does anyone have any advice on just trying to enjoy the game without committing to a big guild and trying to stress out over making multiple raid nights to see anything? How much can one accomplish in this game solo now? Sorry for the rambling it is still early
  2. Derka Power Ranger