Mercenary Update - Community Input and Discussion

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Shenovar, May 7, 2022.

1. Shenovar New Member

I love this game, I started playing when I was young and it brings great nostalgia and fun! I just can't accept how badly mercenaries function in this game. I want to start a list of simple fixes that would drastically increase the playability of the game overall.

- Could they be given the same functions as a pet? Hold, Back, Follow etc, you can leave off Attack function to prevent abuse. If you could have a tank pet return to your campfire or move your healer merc behind the group on Hold so it doesn't run around and get killed.

- Mercenary AA's are nice but at least half should be auto granted at lv100-110 so they aren't so weak and content can be done.

- Mercenary Gear - Put a vendor in PoK for all tier gear or increase drop rate - I wouldn't even care if it was a Marketplace item at this point..

- We can customize NPC in the guildhall but not the mercenary that follows us around?

- I don't think any of these features would require much work and it would significantly increase the ability to play this game.

Is there a list of what is going to be changed with Mercenaries from the Roadmap other than simplification of the ranks?

Thank you everyone, I just want to hear opinions about what would be beneficial or something you would like to see in the mercenary update!
  2. I_Love_My_Bandwidth Mercslayer

Mercs should self-incinerate and leave Norrath forever.
    Arkanny likes this.
  3. Jumbur Improved Familiar

I think they should add a new type of merc. Squishy DPS-classes(without pets) have poor synergy with the current selection. Especially because many encounters still need a "trinity"(tank-heal-dps). That means DPS-classes don't have many molo-options. :oops:
    Shenovar likes this.
  4. Yinla Ye Ol' Dragon

Mercs are fine as they are you just need to learn to control them. Passive = hold