Addressing Latency

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by Accendo, Apr 20, 2022.

1. Herf Augur

Yep and it's a job. If it was me I'd tell them I have be paid an hourly wage as a contractor to come do that kind of thing.

The pitiful thing here is not that they lost coprorate historical knowedge, but that they never documented so much in the first place. Sadly this is not something that I can blame on DayPaw since this shortcoming is endemic in the game industry and is not uncommon in commercial software in general.
  2. Svann2 The Magnificent

Zone times seem fixed now. Last night (Sunday) all zone times were half a minute, sometimes less. GJ
  3. Manafasto Augur

Well I program for a living and the first thing you forgo completing on a deadline or do after the completion of the project is documentation. You really should be commenting/noting your work while doing it so it is fresh in your mind. I see it to often and it really does cause issues down the line. In my case I have gotten so old my memory is no where near what it use to be and have to decipher even my own.

Anyways looks like you all have some growing pains ahead of you, good luck.
  4. Tucoh Augur

Thanks for confirming what previous developers have said about causes of lag over the last couple of decades while they kept adding more swarm pets, weapon procs and increasing melee hits / second.

Delete 90% of swarm pets and spell/weapon procs, nerf haste / multi-attack and then keep increasing the low-cost player stats like attack, base-dmg, damage bonuses etc until classes are balanced and players can defeat raids again. Don't be afraid, it'll work out fine!
  5. Ariana Augur

Half a minute is fixed?
  6. baby-iksar Journeyman

I like this post, and the transparency.

Step 1: Adding middleware to send telemetric data somewhere for analysis (New Relic is super awesome for this), is a positive step.