Best Merc for SK?

Discussion in 'Tanks' started by ceto, Jan 26, 2022.

1. ceto Elder

Hi folks,

I'm looking to molo up a SK. I don't plan to raid or even group much. I was thinking of using a DPS Merc to speed up the killing. Should I go wo with the rogue or wizard Merc?

Or maybe just stick with a cleric?

Thanks!
  2. Aoxe New Member

I would either stick with a tank merc or cleric merc. Tank merc will probably be faster depending on your equipment.
  3. Flatchy Court Jester

If you are only going with one get the cleric. Especially starting out. Ive been playing an sk since 2004 daily and have two. I usually dont play without a healer in the group. When I have a merc out its usually my melee dps merc. I would advise against he wiz merc , tried it and had lackluster results. I might add also that this is the second merc in the group. Sk are one of the best toons for self sustainability but it does not last forever.
  4. ceto Elder

Thanks for the responses, much appreciated.
  5. Keenween Elder

Tank merc for a SK makes NO sense (tank merc taunt the sk up and the sk cant heal him... and a dead tank merc does nothing...). All the way a heal merc (heals, Buffs and spell haste)
    Sup Rog likes this.
  6. Syylke_EMarr Augur

Up to a certain level (which I am unsure of), tank mercs can solo most content. That's probably the reasoning behind Aoxe's suggestion.

If you're beyond that point, I would go with healer merc and then melee DPS merc.
    minimind likes this.
  7. Graytis Lorekeeper

Prior to the early 60s, a tank merc or DPS caster set to AE BURN are viable to mini-swarm with virtually no healing required (caster may require regen breaks between groups of mobs, however... ymmv). Eventually though, you'll want a healer to help you grind out the skills you've neglected to this point.