Daybreak to take over development of MTGO.

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by FrozenWater, Dec 23, 2021.

1. FrozenWater Augur

2. FrozenWater Augur

Oops, someone beat me to it.
  3. Goranothos Augur

I've been playing MTG Arena since it's release, and currently have a yuge card collection. I started playing paper magic somewhere around 1994, but MTG Arena has pretty much ended my paper MTG playing. My favorite format in MTG Arena is Historic Ranked, and that's pretty much all I play.

Never really messed with MTGO. Can someone explain the difference between MTGO and MTG Arena to me? Assume I know nothing at all about MTGO.
  4. FrozenWater Augur

I have a large collection on Arena too, and I really liked Historic, but Alchemy just really rubbed me the wrong way so I'm currently off it. I have a bunch of other gripes about Arena too, but this isn't really the place to air that.

As for MTGO, short and sweet: MTGO is to Arena what Everquest is to WoW and other future MMOs.

Longer version: MTGO is the OG MTG client, and it's still maintained and heavily used (though Arena has the higher user count by far -- think EQ vs. WoW again). MTGO has basically every card ever printed (there is definitely some missing cards, but not many, and almost nothing you would miss). From the black lotus right down to the latest Standard sets. Furthermore, it has support for a LOT of formats too. Not just Standard, but Pioneer, Modern, Legacy, Vintage and Commander (and even more, but they are the ones most people know about).

It also has a real economy. Like a paper economy, you can trade and buy cards between other players and businesses -- the "secondary market". Card prices go up and down as they do in paper, and some cards are even worth more in MTGO than they are in paper. You can cash out as you do in paper, I've sold collections as large as $15k on MTGO.