Stuck with FTP players and moving onto expansion

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Shack, Nov 29, 2021.

1. Shack New Member

Hey all,

I have been playing EQ on and off for the last 22 years and I decided to try my hand at a live server and boxing a group to progress through end game. Usually I start on TLP's but I wanted to take a more laid back approach. I currently have a group of 5 110's and a 113 tank. Needless to say I am stuck. I cannot really seem to make Krono on the FV server to pay for 5 extra expansions and 5 more krono ($200ish)....

Anyone have any tips on how to somewhat rummage up some krono as a FTP group? Or is the game more pay to win in this regard? Also, FV seems somewhat dead for raids/group content?

Any help for a returning veteran would be much appreciated!

Thank you.
  2. Vumad Cape Wearer

You have played for 22 years, so you used to have 1 subscription to the game. They made it FTP. Now you are calling to pay2win because you are playing 5 accounts. You are a 22 year veteran. You should have better perspective than that.

I'm fine with your question, but I take a bit of offense when people call EQ a pay2win game. Especially when running 5 accounts. What you are talking about is not pay to win. It's Play2GetSum1ElseToPay4u.

Krono are bought by players, at a higher rate than the actual sub. Krono are $18 each, or bought in bulk, $17 each. Monthly subs however are $15/mo, or bought in bulk $10/month. So when you buy Krono, you are asking another player to pay a 70% premium so you don't have to sub.

Given that they want the minimum wage at $15, at best you can say a Krono costs 2 hours of work, but you certainly should not expect to make 2.5 million platinum (the krono exchange rate on Luclin) in 2 hours.