How to Report Cheaters/Botters

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Razorfall, Oct 8, 2021.

1. Razorfall Augur

2. Zunnoab Augur

Just be absolutely sure before wasting their time. I remember a particularly ridiculous moment not long after I started playing the game when I was leveling up my shaman's spell skills and someone thought they were being clever giving my character one copper. Apparently sitting there casting over and over was cause enough for them to be obnoxious.

It doesn't help "bot" is slang for "box" too and often isn't even used talking about people using programs to cheat by automation.
  3. Axel Furry Hats OP

Could the person handing you the copper also be reported for bullying/disrupting other player's gameplay? Like, the intent is obviously clear that you are trying to harass someone else while they are playing, regardless of their cheating status.
  4. Waring_McMarrin Augur

It likely could and people breaking the rules to try an catch or punish cheaters tend to get punished for that as the cheaters also know how to report things.
    Coagagin and Elyssanda like this.
  5. Jumbur Improved Familiar

Seriously? I always thought it was only bad faith trolls who did that, in order to muddle the discussions!

Are non-trolls really using the 2 terms interchangeably, unironically? :eek:

And what "new steps" are you talking about?
    Elyssanda, Kaenneth and Duder like this.
  6. Duder Augur

7. Leigo You come here often?

God yes.. I hear people's boxes referred to as bots weekly. Honestly, why would you want to be even remotely in the same field as botters?
  8. Fanra https://everquest.fanra.info

Boxes are not Bots.

Bot = RoBot (not human).

Box = Person using more than one PC (can be virtual, as in two instances of EQ on the same computer), PCs used to come in big beige boxes (desktop or tower).

It's not rocket science.
  9. Zunnoab Augur