Please help me understand Magician Pets and Focus

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Sweety D, Oct 5, 2021.

1. Sweety D Journeyman

I am VERY new to EQ. So I have no idea what I am doing. I have spent hours reading guides and forum postd about Mage pets and focus items, and I am still lost. I need a 101 tutorial that assumes I know nothing about the game. Everything I have read uses abbreviations, jargon and vernacular that I don't understand. I have a level 50 Warrior, I stopped playing that class, and now I am level 51 Magician. I love the mage, but I am so lost. Here is what I need help with:

I need to know, step by step what to do with focus items. What are they? How do I use them? Why are there so many? When do I use them? Why do they say "temporary"? They seem useless. I equip them and summon a pet right? This is supposed to make me summon a higher level pet, right? When I do this the pet is the same level as before. I am totally lost on focus and what it's for.

Also, how do I now what gear my pet is using? (I know the answer is "you don't) - I give it items and I just assume it uses them? I understand there is no UI. But I don't know what items to give the pet. Also, If I dismiss the pet, or if it dies, do I need to give them items again? What if I decide I want to change the items my pet is using, seems I can't.

Pretend I am Micheal Scott and I need Oscar to explain this to me like a 5 year old. (if you don't watch 'The Office' you won't get the joke.

TL;DR .. What is Pet Focus? & How do I check my pet's inventory?
    Duder likes this.
  2. Zipe The Healer

Hello,
    An items Focus is a characteristic some items have that improve your magical or melee skills.
    I'll give you two examples.
    This item doesn't have any focus:
    [IMG]

And this gloves, have a Focus, more precisely.. .they have a pet focus:
    [IMG]