Why Don't NPC Casters Fizzle Spells?

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Allworth, Sep 2, 2021.

1. Allworth Elder

I've been playing EverQuest off and on since April of 1999. One thing I've noticed is how NPC casters seem to walk between the raindrops. NPCs and especially NPC casters play by different rules it seems. That's understandable to a point to make up for the lack of NPC artificial intelligence versus the natural intelligence of a player. Fair enough.

I've always wondered why NPC casters never fizzle spells as their PC counterparts do. I've never seen a NPC caster experience a collapsed gate spell either.

I've always thought that NPC casters are somewhat overpowered, due to the fact that they can only be interrupted by PC stuns and bash if you are lucky.

It's worth remembering that melee NPC mobs do in fact miss occasionally their melee attacks like their PC counterparts. I think having NPC caster mobs fizzle and gate collapse occasionally would help facilitate more consistency, immersion, and fairness between PC and NPCs. If it's good enough for NPC melee mobs, it should be good enough for NPC caster mobs.

I'm not sure how hard it would be for the developers to implement but it sure would be nice for them to code in a chance to fizzle percentages fizzle for NPC spell casters and chance to collapse gate NPC gate casters.

Thanks for listening!
  2. Jaylnn Gnomish Bog Jogger

I don’t really have an opinion about it. But does that mean you would support them using focus effects, and have the ability to crit?

The counterpart of melee missing would be resisting spells
  3. Jhenna_BB Proudly Prestigious Pointed Purveyor of Pincusions