New player w/ question on spells/reagents

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Nerdus Antiquus, Jan 20, 2021.

1. Nerdus Antiquus New Member

I'm new to EQ and created a magician. I tried to cast the spell for my elemental pet and it did not materialize. Only after much internet searching did I discover I needed "malachite". I probably missed the in-game information that tells casters which gems/reagents they need for their spells but for the life of me I cannot find it. Even when I hold down right-click on the spell (e.g. elementalkin:fire), while it does give me some detailed information, it does not say I need "malachite" to cast it. Is there an in-game UI source I am missing that lets the caster know what gems/reagents are needed with spells? Thanks in advance, any help would be appreciated.
  2. Grove Augur

I do not know where it is written, but
    Magicians - Malachite
    Necromancers (and Shadow Knights?) - Bone chip
    Enchanter - Tiny dagger
    Beastlord - none
    Shaman - none
  3. CatsPaws No response to your post cause your on ignore

4. Ebine Augur

Should give you a text and say fail to cast because you are missing XXXXX item.
    I know it does for all enchanter spells when I am making stuff. I am pretty
    sure my mage that I had said you are missing malachite.
    Tatanka and Barton like this.
  5. Barton The Mischievous

Yep you should get a message in text, a lot of information is still given via text in EQ

checked on Mage "you are missing some required components"
    "you are missing Malachite

checking on a druid using Wake of Karana. " you are missing some required components"
    "you are missing Opal"

So it seems the messages are working currently
  6. Nerdus Antiquus New Member

[/quote]