EverQuest randomly crashes AND my PC.

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by DekicaMekica, Nov 27, 2020.

1. DekicaMekica New Member

(My English is sorta bad and its my first time on this forum so I'm sorry if I'm writing in the wrong category.)

EverQuest randomly crashes and bricks my pc to the point where I have to restart my pc.
    I got an upgrade to my computer, and before the upgrade it never crashed. In my both states i used windows 10. My spec is:

G4400 3.3Ghz
    12GB RAM
    RX 460 2GB

I installed EverQuest through steam and it crashes both from the steam launcher and from the launcher directly in the directory. So far I've only tried lowering my graphics to the bare minimum and it still crashes. I don't know what to do. Thank you for any help you can give :)

Edit: I forgot to mention this but I'm not sure if it would help in any way. Launchpad.exe and eqgame.exe are both set in windows 7 compatibility, to be ran with administrator privileges and i disabled full screen optimizations. I have done this because the game would show a black window and crash if i were to start it without these options (I'm not quite sure about the administrator privileges and the full screen optimizations, I only enabled them because the game would also crash if i alt-tabbed, but i fixed that issue by setting my resolution to be the same as my monitor's)
  2. smash Augur

Sounds like it is the upgrade that does it, what is the upgrade ? hd/ram or what ?

Try to un upgrade it and see how it is then.
  3. GNOME_POWER Augur

Most people who crash often forget to install DirectX 9C.
    Rondor likes this.
  4. trakk Lorekeeper

Lots crashes with the most recent win10updates. It's not eq
  5. DekicaMekica New Member

Aren't newer DirectX versions compatible with the older ones, therefore you cannot install older ones?
    Or am I wrong?

I tried installing DirectX 9C , but i cant because it requires older versions of windows, and i have windows 10
  6. DekicaMekica New Member