Wizards in OoW and beyond

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by Brixog, Sep 1, 2020.

1. Brixog New Member

This is my first time playing a wizard on a TLP. Mangler just hit Omens of War and I've noticed a massive drop in DPS compared to previous expansions. The mobs are all super resisty and most of the new spells are draughts or lures, so it's like they are intentionally steering you towards lower damage + poor ratio spells.

Is this drop off normal? Is it something that gets better over time? How long will it suck?
  2. Sturmx Lorekeeper

I "think" its TSS when you start getting your instant nukes and rising.
  3. Healiez Augur

Omens is a little rough for the reasons you said.

Starting around TSS is when wizards really start popping off. The rotation is somewhat ineteresting, you have more tools, gift of mana is amazing, Then spires and twincast get added.

In TSS and beyond on my tlp wizard I would constantly top meters.
  4. Bobbybick Only Banned Twice

The 70 stretch is VERY melee-quest
  5. Healiez Augur

this is 100% accurate, DoDh makes it a little better, actually gives you something to spend your GoM procs on. The expansion that makes wizards really shine is SoD. Twincast+spire+CD+SC= double crit threatless nukes for 18 seconds.
  6. Brixog New Member

So essentially it will be roughly 36 weeks before wizards are viable again?

OoW = 12 weeks
    DoN = 8 weeks
    DoDH = 8 weeks
    PoR = 8 weeks
  7. Lacka Journeyman

in the world of TLP getting to SoD is basically like walking to the moon.
  8. r32jl32 New Member

My opinion on what you should expect.
    70 = below most DPS classes
    75 = middle of the DPS pack
    80 to 95 = 3rd behind Necro (DoT revamp) and Mage (Shock of Many)
    100-105 = 2nd to Necro

In the level 70 expansions, your fire damage can work but you would need Malo, Harmony of Sound, and Chant of Flame on a boss to land. Good luck getting a bard to Chant of Flame though.
  9. Brixog New Member