After today...

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Vicus, Apr 16, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vicus Augur

While this might give you some sense of victory it still doesn't change the truth or make me a liar. I graduated boot camp at the age of 17. I spent all by the last 11 days in boot camp at the age of 16. But in the Marines and other branches your career start day on your DD214 starts the day you went to bootcamp. So for a little over two and a half months I was in the military legally at the age of 16.
  2. Vicus Augur

"Every branch of service has a maximum age limit to join the military. However, the age to enlist is not black and white. In fact, it is quite grey with different rules, regulations, and waivers to be accepted for various jobs at a wide range of ages.

The federal law that can be manipulated in a case by case basis states that the minimum age for enlistment in the United States military is 17 (with parental consent) and 18 (without parental consent). The maximum age is 35."

Like I said, they found a loop hole, got a regional level waiver (1 star general) and I went to boot camp. I had to write a one page letter to the CG of my case and why I wanted to be a Marine (I wrote it and the recruiter changed most of it).
    https://www.thebalancecareers.com/us-military-enlistment-standards-3354001
  3. code-zero Augur

That link points to a site addressing maximum ages for enlistment in various branches of the US military. There is nothing in that article that would allow you to verify your claim
  4. SmoochyOfWolfington Augur