Bout time I introduce myself.

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Pip, Dec 11, 2019.

1. Pip Developer

Hail Norrathians!

Many of you may have already seen me here on the forums, and many of you have seen me in game. I'm more active on the beta forums at the moment while we build up for the release of Torment of Velious. However, I realized that I have never fully introduced myself to you all. I'm Phillip "Pip" Sexton and I have been an EQ Dev for over a year now.

The main reason I haven't introduced myself is because well, to be honest, I didn't feel I earned the right to say that I even sit among this pantheon of developers for EverQuest. I felt like I needed to do more work in order to prove to not only myself, but to all of you, that I'm worthy enough to even call myself a developer, let alone a developer for a game as prestigious as EverQuest. I started my career at SOE as a Customer Service representative. At the time I was a contract employee but when we switched over to Daybreak, a lot of us C.S. contractors got to be hired on. After that, I worked for a while in C.S. before switching over to Quality Assurance for H1Z1 and when Just Survive was ramping up, I was put on that team of Quality Assurance experts.

With time on J.S. I made my intentions known that someday, I wanted to be a developer, so through study and experience, I was eventually given an opportunity to be a part of the J.S. Developer team, and thus my lifelong goal of being a developer was realized. You see, the only thing I've ever wanted since picking up my first NES controller, was to work on/with video games. I knew that I would have to work hard in this industry, and that its a rather unstable and unfair career path, but I couldn't resist. I guess I like the abuse?