Hardware

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Oakenblade, Sep 28, 2019.

1. Oakenblade Former ForumQuest Champion

Greetings ForumQuest Champions,

I'm trying to get some ideas on how I can upgrade my rig strictly for EQ purposes. So inb4 "you can play EQ on a brick" I'm aware of that. But I want to increase performance whether it be during raids or multiboxing from a single PC. Typically I start to have issues with frame rate the more boxes I have up, or when there is a lot of incoming info to the log file when raiding. I often have to turn windows defender off during raids. From what I understand EQ is mostly intensive on the CPU, is that correct? If not I'd like to learn more. I'm not a hardware expert by any means whatsoever.

Anyway I built this PC back in 2014 and it was pretty decent for the time. I'm wondering if there are any affordable approaches I can take to either upgrade a few slots, or possibly get a new motherboard and re-do the whole thing. If you guys have any ideas please let me know. This is what I'm currently running and how I have it configured.

EQClient.ini - all affinities set to -1 (to utilize all cores of the cpu)
    3 monitor setup. 2 DVI's and one dataport using Eyefinity.
    Motherboard: Gigabyte 990FXA - UD5
    RAM: 16GB (not sure on the details but I can figure it out if it's important)
    CPU: AMD FX 8350 8 core. 4GHz.
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon R9 200 series (4GB)

I have the windows 10 OS operating from 1 SSD using SATA3, and I have the EQ directory on a secondary SSD also using SATA3.

Any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
  2. Teylana Elder

The issues regarding your log file during raiding may not have anything to do with your rig. It may be Windows Defender. There are multiple threads on the forums giving instructions on how to fix that issue.