Auto follow

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by GreatWaste, Apr 26, 2019.

1. GreatWaste New Member

My wife and I just started playing EQ and we were wondering how to make our toons auto follow each other so one of us could step away to take care of the kids. Does anyone know how to do that?
  2. hellohello123 Lorekeeper

Target the person and type /fol

Careful though, the follow code sucks and the person behind can fall off cliffs and things. Helps if their frame rate is high.
  3. Scorrpio Augur

Yeah autofollow can be a problem. Goid news though, once mage levels up a bit, there's CotH
  4. Pani Augur

make a social key.
    first line = /target wife name
    2nd line = /pause 2 (this allows for lag)
    3rd line = /follow
  5. BlueberryWerewolf Augur

Yeah when you run on auto-follow you really have to think of it like you're towing the player on a line. Take wider arcs around trees and other obstacles than you normally would if you're turning. Check back behind you on occasion to make sure they are still there.

Also, unfortunately, if they do get stuck on something they'll have to back themselves out and re-follow. It doesn't work very well to try and work them out by pulling them.
  6. Tucoh Augur

some tips I posted recently:

It still has some issues, fixing it would dramatically improve my EQ experience, which is why I posted about it in the QoL thread

But it's still pretty useful and I've gotten great at it.
  7. BlueberryWerewolf Augur

I think top-down view works better because it requires loading fewer assets as you aren't utilizing your far clip plane, and so gives you better FPS.

if I remember correctly.
  8. svann Augur

If your computers are close enough to hear you can also make an audio trigger to tell you if (when) follow fails. Control Z brings up the audio trigger window. Type
    You are no longer auto-following