Nec+3?

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Kindred, Jul 9, 2018.

1. Kindred Journeyman

My friend is playing a 80's necromancer and I'm trying to catch up to him with a 3 box.

I'm not good at boxing but a 3 box will enable me to fill the party out since one of my friend's rules is that he is not going to use a Mercenary at all. That restriction does not apply to me.

I want to avoid magician if I can since he has a magician already that's level 99. Also avoiding necro since he's absolutely against class stacking. I made a beastlord but spam 4 nukes and dots that make you go out of mana and using FPoS on self didn't sound appealing along with maintaining growl for "if you're good, you'll do good" kind of dps. I'm 3boxing so I don't think I can play at that level, would boxing even make sense here if I can at best focus on one that requires inputs?

Also what's my best option if I have a 99 bard already, that's too much of a level disparity to do anything with the necro, right? Best to level up fresh?

My first thought was ranger, but after reading the QQ fest in the Hybrid forums, I didn't want to have to med every fight like they describe.

At the moment, I'm going with 61 Berserker + 57 Warrior + 55 Cleric but would a knight be better? Drop cleric box since the healer mercs seem to be doing better than me on it while boxing? I was able to do gribbles+marla with tank/dps/cc with no problems but I'm sure the game eventually gets harder than that.
  2. Treiln Augur

There's nothing wrong with using a Warrior over a Knight class. Only issue with using a real tank is that your main priority has to be on them if you want to hold aggro while going ham on mobs. And that takes away from using the cleric (assuming you're not using a program that automates other toons abilities).