How Many Years Does it Take to Fix a Broken Spell?

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Brontus, May 2, 2018.

1. Brontus EQ Player Activist

I would like to ask the DBG devs a serious question: How many years does it take to fix a broken spell?

Spell: Form of the Great Wolf is completely broken and effectively useless. It's ultravision, attack and run speed components are not functioning at all. The only thing that is working is the wolf illusion. As an aside, the group version of Form of the Great Wolf which is not bugged and provides all of the advertised benefits.

This bug was entered in the official DGB bug tracker in January of 2016. It has been noted in the bug conversation that the spell has probably been broken since sometime in 2015.

https://dgcissuetracker.com/browse/EQ-676

I have been playing MMOs since 1999 when EverQuest debuted and took the video game world by storm. I've always loved druids. I came back last year and created a druid on Agnarr and I also have one on Coirnav. When I reached level 40 with my druid I was excited to purchase the Form of the Great Wolf. Sadly, I learned the hard way that this spell was broken when I tried to fun away from Seafury Cyclops in Ocean of Tears zone and promptly died because the run speed attribute of the spell was not working.

Wolf form is a class defining ability for druids. While fixing this spell may not be a big deal for live servers, it's very important for druids on progression servers.

For over 2 years, this spell bug still remains unresolved and an open and bug on the DGB bug tracker. I don't think it's unreasonable to expect that a serious bug like this is fixed within that generous time frame. I know the devs are very busy and I appreciate all they do to keep EverQuest running. I am just wondering when druids can expect this spell to be finally fixed? Thank you for your consideration on this matter.
  2. Cicelee Augur

It should be fixed by the year 2031. I am 95% confident in this.