First timer, downloading EQ now.. Will my specs handle it??

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Gorg, Feb 14, 2018.

1. Gorg New Member

Hey guys i'm downloading EQ now and will be playing for the first time once this surprisingly large 10gb download is complete. I played Ultima Online for years though back in the day. How is the community on EQ, lots of peeps playing? And are there any guilds to join as a newb (for PVE)? I just started playing UO again on a free shard and there are zero newbie guilds there but it's still a great game.

One other thing.. I have a Win 8 laptop, 4gb ram, with intel 3000hd graphics. Not great, I know, but do you think it's good enough to play EQ at a reasonable quality seeing as it's an old game?
    IblisTheMage likes this.
  2. S33k3r Augur

My old laptop (which i still occasionally use for eq) was a Sony VivoBook S200E. This laptop has a i3-3217U, 4Gb memory with 4000HD graphics.

Turning off shadows and reducing spell effects I could run EQ at a reasonable speed even in raids. The main problem was an 11" screen :( and the 4Gb really limited how many instances of EQ I could run.

I normally play on a HP Pavilion with a 5157u processor, 8Gb memory with Intel Iris 6100 graphics. Not the most powerful laptop but the extra memory and a 15" screen means its a lot nicer playing EQ on this than my old laptop.
  3. Gorg New Member

Ah great that's good to know, thx for the info. I think mine should be able to run it if i turn off the shadows and sfx then. My laptop screen is 15 inches but, half the time, I plug it into a large 40 inch widescreen tv so I have a massive screen to play on :)

Well it's only 50% downloaded so far so I have to wait a while yet before I even get to try it, it's been downloading already for 2 hours lol
  4. Scorrpio Augur

1. Default EQ UI is horrid. Visit EQinterface and look up some popular UIs there.
    2. Google up "Good's Everquest Maps" and download the latest batch.