Free to play, boxing, server choice

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Augustas, Jan 31, 2018.

1. Augustas New Member

Hello Everquest Community,

I played EQ a long time ago and am coming back to the game. I've played on p99, eqmac, and other servers but I want to return to the main game. I was able to recover my old account which is a silver account on the Bristlebane - The Tribunal server. I intend to remain a free 2 play player with the exception of subbing for a month to do the auto grant AA thing later on when i reach that level. My main interest will be enjoying some old world content, POP and before, with my new toons. After that maybe I'll progress to new content but that isn't a priority at the moment.

My plan is to box 2-3 toons on my computer using mercs i guess. I've never used mercs before so I have zero experience with them. All I know as a free to play player I am limited to apprentice mercs and I've read that is a disadvantage. Some of the classes I've always enjoyed are mage, sk, shaman and bards. So, I'm thinking I will box some combination of those classes to adventure through old zones and dungeons with.

So with that little bit of background I have a few questions I am wresting with.

1. I'm considering playing on the test server for the All-Access account and benefits that come with it. My concern is the lower population and lack of items for sale on the bazaar to gear out my characters. In the current game will I acquire enough gear through quests and the normal leveling process? I know back in the day, gear did not come that easily. I had to farm and buy from other players.