What do you do when someone asks you for personal information?

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by Tinytinker, May 25, 2017.

1. Tinytinker Augur

How much personal information are you willing to give out in the game? I've had players ask me for Skype, my personal Facebook account, what city do I live in, what do I think about politics and religion, and what I do for a living. I've been deflecting the questions when the talk has turned personal and at one point said, "I'd prefer not to talk about personal stuff." I got told off by a returning player from P99, who told me I came across as unfriendly and uptight. o_O
  2. Mad_Mikey Elder

I'm fine sharing some personal information with guildmembers I've known quite a while, but someone in a pickup group? Not a chance. You can be plenty friendly and outgoing in EQ without giving near strangers your Skype address or access to your FB friends list.
  3. snailish Augur

Just say "It ruins my immersion man, I was born in East Freeport among a bunch of necromancers doing laundry. I will ruin your lands".

That should placate them.
  4. squidgod Augur

I roll male toons, so nobody ever asks.
  5. TLP Addict Augur

Tell em to go take a flying leap. Nobody is obligated to share any personal information. The vast majority of players won't ask for anywhere near that, you obviously met a creep. Put em on ignore and forget about em.
    andross77 likes this.
  6. HoodenShuklak Augur

Personal facebook is definitely weird for a stranger... but I had someone refuse to tell me what time zone they lived in. I was just curious and was fine with it... but talk about uptight. Maybe they were only 12??
  7. Yruc Augur

/ignore
    give them the name of a saint "Peter / Paul / Mary / Anne / etc