EQ Newb Here ...

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Wanderica, Feb 10, 2017.

1. Wanderica New Member

So I'm basically new to EQ. However, I did play p99 for a week or so, and I played FFXI quite a bit back in its heyday, so group-centric MMOs are not foreign to me. I've been MMOing since 2001 or so, and I honestly have no idea why (or even how) I haven't picked up EQ seriously in the last 17 years. Better late than never though, as they say. Let's just say that after decades of development, EQ's world is absolutely massive, and I'm left with a question or 2 (or 20).

Finding PoK was easy, so navigation isn't too bad once you get through all the clutter on the map packs I downloaded. There's a bunch of stuff to see in this game, and I'm a little unsure where to start. I've settled on a Druid on FV, and between my nukes / heals and my Merc's godlike status, we pretty much melt whatever we've managed to drag out of its hiding place so far. I should see mid 30s today, and by the end of the weekend, I'll be knocking on the door of post 50 content if not flying past it. I realize that one cannot hope to experience all of EQs various things these days for a multitude of reasons, but I'd like to take my time and do as much as possible.

What can players reasonably hope to do solo these days? My return to FFXI last year was amazing for this as they let you fill out a full party with your very own NPC posse. What can Brutus the Regenerative Tank Merc do to help me accomplish older stuff? I know EQ is extremely top heavy these days and finding groups at the early level (especially with my night shift schedule) is difficult to say the least. I don't mind outleveling things and going back in to faceroll older stuff. I just want to see it and collect all the little story and lore pieces that I can while Norrath is still relatively new to me.