Return of the Newb

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by CaptainSkeet, May 1, 2016.

1. CaptainSkeet Augur

Hello all. I recently returned to EQ to try out the new TLP servers after a long absence. After browsing the forums, I happened upon a blog about a returning ranger on the live servers (nice reading too). I decided to give a run down of my experience on the TLP side of things, since I am feeling creative right now.

A bit of background:
    I originally started EQ a few weeks before Luclin was released. Of course, being a complete newbie at the time, I had no idea about the higher end content or game mechanics that were changed. I played through most of the early content as a druid, and made it to level 53 before deciding to try a new character (fond memories of snare kiting hill giants and Velious orcs). I leveled a shadow knight after that, passing along some plat and gear to re-start myself. My SK was my first character to hit max level, though that did not happen until after PoP was released. Following that, I ended up making a BST and WAR, with my warrior ending up being my main. Eventually I got into raiding, though I was never on the “cutting edge”. I joined a guild called Sequel, and spent some happy times progressing through raid content. I raided minimally in Luclin (SSRA, never did VT), but mostly in PoP, GoD, OOW, and DoN. Managed to get my epic 2.0 and had a great time, and was pretty proud of my warrior in his golden age, around OOW/DoN. Never was the “top” tank, but for a Halfling he was pretty good.
    Anyway, upon hearing about these new TLP servers, I decided it was time to come back and give it a shot. After some debate and checking things out, I decided to start up on Phinny, which had the highest population. Though I did enjoy boxing, I decided getting back into the game would be easier with a single toon. I did try some boxing on Ragefire, but found I was very rusty.

The Newbie Phoenix