17 Years of EverQuest: What's YOUR Story?

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by Roshen, Mar 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TT23 New Member

Everquest is the best mmo out there in my opinion I was a kid watching it in 1998 test server and grew up playing Enchanterof is my main Soulfire is my mother and Dart is my dads toon they old toons
  2. OldTimeEQ1 Augur

In 1999 while at a friend's place in Dallas, Texas, sometime in Sep 99, I was browsing through a Time Magazine (a couple or so months old issue), and saw an article on a game called EverQuest. Having never played any online games till then - I was an international student in grad school doing my MBA then - I was piqued. I picked up a copy from CompUSA , installed it on my craptastic PC and was hooked - made a monk on Quellious, read up a lot on Monk boards (the original ezboard one - by the Quirky "Q", I ended up as an admin there at some point, though everyone move to Dojo then monkly-business). I moved to Nameless when it opened, played for a few months there.

Of course, I almost dropped out of Grad School, due to playing EQ non-stop! The friends we made then!

Anyway, over the years, moving around multiple countries, I keep coming back to EQ. I came back for Combine, played a year or so. Now back for Ragefire last year, started on Phinegel and loving it till now. Had to make a new account last year as I couldn't recall my log in info right away ( ah darn age, I can recall most of my ingame friends from 99 through 2001!!). I did recall it later, logged in couldnt find my combine chars, guess need to check each server at some point.!

I still vividly recall my first trip from Qeynos to freeport with the help of a level 15 shaman (I was lvl 12) on a saturday afternoon which took 2 hours! Maybe I will write a small book of a post about how amazing EQ was and still is in some aspects!

Ronninn
    Quellious
    Beeshma
    Nameless

Dury
    Phinegel