Some questions from a new player

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Markulyas, Jan 31, 2016.

1. Markulyas New Member

Hi all,

I started playing EverQuest a couple of days ago and so far the game looks interesting and makes me want to continue my adventures. After thinking much about which server to start on and which race/class to pick, I went with Bristlebane server and a Wood Elf Druid character. I spent some time getting used to the controls, UI, skills and chat system and now I am Level 10 and exploring/questing in the Mines of Gloomingdeep.

I took note of some questions to help me understand the game better and I will appreciate if more knowledgeable players could answer them.

- Why do mobs have "a" in front of their names? e.g. "a cave bat, a cave rat". Does it indicate anything?
    - Is there a way to understand which mobs are friendly and which ones are hostile? For example, in another game I play, the cursor changes appropriately when I hover over a hostile NPC.
    - Can I see the Level of the NPCs, mobs, other players? e.g. when I click on them?
    - As I leveled up, slaying some mobs don't give XP anymore. How do I know from which mobs will I get XP? Also, if a mob is low level that I don't get any XP, I will not get any skill-ups when fighting with that mob, right?
    - Is it possible to see Health, Mana (on player window) and XP (on inventory window) values as numbers rather than %?
    - I play in windowed mode. The game, colors, lighting look much better in windowed mode for me, but there is no antialiasing in windowed mode. Did anyone else have this issue and know any fix for it?
    - Can I deselect an NPC when I click somewhere on the screen? Other than having to press ESC all the time.
    - When I click EQ button and select "Welcome", it displays a blank window.