UI

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Matari, Nov 26, 2014.

1. Matari Augur

A quick introduction – I started playing EQ during beta and played through SoV. During PoP, I came back for a brief period, but I quit again pursuing other games with my guild. Four months ago, I came back and created a heroic character (druid) and a PL’d another (mage).

Previously, I played a cleric as my main and was surprised to find out they no longer exist (outside raids). I picked a J5 healer merc and I was off, or so I thought…

I quickly found out that my healer merc is a better tank (holds agro well and heals itself) than healer – it spams delayed heals and HoTs and cannot keep with the DPS of mobs approximately the same level. My druid clearly out heals the merc and the only advantage the merc has is the HoT spell that it does not know how to use.

Frooooak the healer merc - I decided to play a healer again.

However, there is something majorly wrong with playing a healer, and it is not the classes.
    It is the god awful UI that everyone uses on a daily bases. I cannot believe this game has not had a major UI update since the customizable upgrade during Kunark area. The UI is as broken as ever. There is no point trying to list all the problems, I will just leave my suggestions…

1. Tabbed chat box,
    2. Simple “/” command for targeting group members and pets,
    3. Fixing all the targeting issues. I should be able to reliably target any legal player or NPC,
    4. Simple offensive and defensive targets (major fix; see Vanguard).

I think my last suggestion would make a HUGE difference in making the healing classes palpable again. Secondary assignments make or break the class.

Now, I have read a dozen or more threads about the UI problems and seem the Dev’s complain that fixing the issues is too cumbersome. Well, if as much effort in fixing the problems were spent over the last decade than complaining about the issue, we would have a decent UI today.