Raid Composition and Class Balance

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Belkar_OotS, Jun 29, 2013.

1. Belkar_OotS Augur

So this thread is partly to vent, partly to ask for some changes over time and partly about class balance. I am raider in 2 guilds (Euro guild weekends, US guild weekdays). I am an officer and recruitment leader for a mid-tier guild and a member in an end game guild.

So I know developers are looking for classes to be largely interchangeable within an archtype. I completely agree with this line of thought so long as each class has its perks and flavor development that makes them fun and worthwhile to play.

In my opinion, each class should ideally have about 3 people per class (16x3 = 48) with an extra per arch-type (+6 with how I am breaking them up which is largely arbitrary) to get up to the full raid compliment of 54.
    1. Healer - cleric, druid, shaman.
    2. Tank - paladin, shadow knight, warrior.
    3. Fighter/melee - berserker, monk rogue.
    4. Caster - magician, necromancer, wizard.
    5. Hybrid - beastlord, ranger.
    6. Utility/CC - bard enchanter.

However, raid design and guilds recruitment reflects a very different picture than roughly even between classes and archtypes. Some classes are much more "required" (like clerics) and much higher on the "want to have" (like bards) than others. Which in principle does not even bother me that much other than the fact it is really hard to keep some classes "in stock" so to speak since you want to have a disproportionately large number of them and they are often not hugely abundant as a class anyway.