Necromancer: A few newbie questions..

Discussion in 'Casters' started by Twong, Apr 24, 2013.

1. Twong Journeyman

Hi

I am new to the necromancer (I am lvl 52 Froglok) and I have a few questions:

1. Dots, do all of them stack?
    2. Is it always better to give the pet a weapon no matter how bad it looks?
    3. Think I can solo an ashenbone broodmaster in PoH and is it worth it to get pet focus? I got 4k'ish mana and hp.
    4. Is the rogue the best mercenary to us necromancers?
    4.1 Or do you keep all for different situations?
    5. A little OT, but what is the fastest cheapest mount from the station store?
  2. Forcallen Augur

Most do but there are lots that don't

Weapons are good.

Not sure, hire a tank merc and give it a try.

Tank merc is your best bet until like 60 or 70 I think, then most use a healer merc when pet tanking or no merc at all when kiting/root rotting.

Basically.

Not sure.
  3. Tachyon Augur

Just about all our DoTs stack. The only significant line that's a bit different is our lifetaps over time. The damage stacks, but the self heal does not. This is good to remember because they have a nice resist mod so they can land on mobs that may have high resists against our other DoTs.

If you don't like pet appearance, check out some of the petramorph wands that let you cast different illusions on them.

Here's a great thread at Necrotalk with some pet foci info...
    http://necrotalk.com/showthread.php?t=5835

Rogue merc is good, though I'd experiment a bit without one at all. Solo xp is pretty strong for a necro if you pick your DoTs well.

Not sure on mounts, though they are nice to kite with if you get a faster one.
  4. Noobieguy Augur

At lower levels I think everything stacks, but after level 80, the Ignite line and Pernicious wounds / Necrotizing wounds does not stack. Believe the disease dot the debuffs STR and AC won't stack either.