Wizard Targeted AoE and self damage?

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Zakalis, Mar 29, 2019.

1. Zakalis New Member

Admittedly, I usually play a tank or hybrid. So please excuse my ignorance. But I've been leveling a wizard since my return to EQ.

I was soloing in Blightfire last night and was testing out snare and targeted AoE. Because I am still learning to kite, the occasional MOB got through to me. I didn't think I was being hit that hard, but I was having to med/heal a lot, and practice bind wound. So I decided to review the combat chat to see what was hitting me so hard. And I found that, sure enough, my targeted AoE was hitting me too. Then I looked at the info for the spell I was using and it showed 2 damage numbers. The listed damage, then there was a second number in parenthesis. I tried a couple of other Targeted AoE spells with the same result.

So what's the deal? Do targeted AoEs affect the caster too? And if so, how are they useful for kiting? Everything I've read about quad kiting makes it sound like you can snare 4 mobs, then run around nuking them. Seems like a proposition that would slow you down when solo if you have to find healing methods between pulls.
  2. raylone New Member

your aoe snare can snare you, so the key to quad kiting is to get 4 mobs and run them around in a circle till they bunch up then snare them resists can make it tricky since 1+ can still chase you full speed you need to reslow but that rare, also make sure you have SoW !

been a long time since i quad kited as a wizard when i did think i had to use 1 shot aoe spells since rain spell would rain in one spot not follow mobs and wasted it dmg, it's the rain dmg spell that hurting you it can't hurt other player but can really hurt you, you can see which type of spell it is in spell text or by color on spell text think orange is rain that hurts you forget others.