EQ1 Numbers Revealed

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by KrakenReality, Dec 2, 2020.

1. ikarinokamii Elder

honestly the problem is they know that a rebuild of EQ probably wouldn't lead to increase users i.e a return on the investment, so there really isnt any incentive into rebuilding and modernizing the graphic and server backbone of EQ
  2. yepmetoo Abazzagorath

I disagree. There are so many old users that if they did a huge expansion, addressing a lot of big issues with a lot of major features and things, then advertised the heck out of it to prior subscribers for like 2 months, they would easily bring back 20-50k subs at least for awhile.
  3. ikarinokamii Elder

I'm not even going to pretend that i'm an expert or anything, but i've heard it cost hundreds of millions of dollars to make a good quality mmo. I would imagine the cost to modernize a game the size of the current EQ would be even more, and i dont think 20-50k subs would be enough to justify the cost.
  4. Jumbur Improved Familiar

They have done big game-engine updates before, I think both Luclin and Underfoot, had a new GFX-engine-update for example. Tbh, it won't be long before they have to, I doubt most GPU manufactures even cares about dx9 support for much longer... The fact that dx9 isn't even a part of the standard win10 installation anymore, says alot...

And resolutions are so high nowadays, that EQ can't even handle fullscreen without bugs afaik.
    Caell and Raptorjesus5 like this.
  5. ikarinokamii Elder

most Directx iterations are backward compatible for the most part. So i don't think that will ever be a problem, most directx 8 games run just fine. features are rarely ever removed. i pretty sure that is why Xbox is able to maintain compatibility across 4 generations of games.
    Jumbur likes this.
  6. Nennius Curmudgeon