Everquest RP

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by enclee, Jun 2, 2020.

1. enclee Augur

So, I’m bored and wondering whatever happened to EQ Roleplaying? Was it ever popular? When did it die off?
    Seor likes this.
  2. Lumenace Journeyman

About five minutes after the first ninja loot.
    Julius, Tatanka and Buster_Shruggs like this.
  3. Chopin.Xegony Augur

Ive been playing since august of 1999 and never really encountered much roleplaying other than men pretending to be women and that roleplaying still goes on plenty today.

If you are talking about D&D tabletop style roleplaying I've never seen it be a part of EQ
    Buster_Shruggs likes this.
  4. Buster_Shruggs Augur

ROFL. That's funny; I suppose we are all roleplaying, with the exception of those of us who have human characters!
  5. Buster_Shruggs Augur

A friend of mine got me started on EQ; during AIT in the ARMY, I would hear him yelling and cursing in his room... he played on a pvp server.
  6. SylSyl Lorekeeper

It existed at launch. There were whole guilds of just-trolls, or all-gnomes, that did well, and various other RP guilds, especially guilds that had formed in earlier games and moved to EQ. But EQ ultimately caters to a different audience. Raiding, for instance, tends to require all classes; most races can't be every class. Mixed-level groups weren't well supported. And staying busy grinding was important to success, spending time RPing anything other than grinding loot and XP tended to get you left behind. A particularly high percentage of the rewards (money, loot, etc.) went to the highest-level characters. There was no way to be part of both a raiding guild and a RP guild at the same time. There wasn't much, if any, support for RP on the EQ forums either; guilds could fashion their own websites, but RP just wasn't encouraged, nourished, or supported as a community.