Getting started

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Rapax, May 6, 2020.

1. Rapax New Member

I am sure that this has been asked and answered a few times but I was wondering what recommendations players have for a relative newbie? I've dabbled with EQ a bit but never really got into it.

What servers are recommended for a total newbie? What classes should I potentially check out?
  2. Xerzist Augur

Bristlebane has a great community with competitive guilds and from what I have gathered plenty of newbie friendly ones. Just sayin' ;)

As for class composition I'd say it entirely depends on what you enjoy doing in the game. As a new player raiding might be an afterthought but you should still think about what role you prefer doing later on: healing, dps, main tanking, off tanking, etc.

Tanks and healers have arguably the most stressful roles. People expect you to play well. I am not going to mock DPS classes because their is some serious work that goes into performing well in that role but as far as raid/group scenes go they are generally the most laid back and may provide the easiest way for you to learn the game.

If you aren't sure:

Main Tanks = Warriors
    Off Tanks = Paladin, SK
    DPS: Rogue, Beastlord, Wizard, Necro, Magician, etc
    Healers: Shaman, Cleric, Druid

People will argue with me but those are the traditional roles. Some players can turn any class into being good at many things.
  3. Dre. Altoholic

Echo Bristle. Get an invite into The Dark Reign. Lots of friendly folks there who would help ya out.

Class - Druid, Monk and Ranger are good for newcomers.
  4. Rapax New Member

Well I did not appreciate such responses.

I did start on Bristlebane as a Magician and I'm playing through the tutorial to see if I can learn the ropes. Any further advice is welcomed.
  5. Loki4567 Lorekeeper