Infuriating problem

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Xtor Zadamose, May 1, 2020.

1. Xtor Zadamose Journeyman

I have been playing Everquest on and off for over 20 years. Sometimes i will log onto a character and all the UI stuff is moved and in different spots and chat boxes/hotbars are missing. This doesn't happen all the time but sometimes it does happen after a patch. I thought the solution to this would be to save the "eqclient.ini" "UI_character_server.ini" "character_server.ini" type files in a separate folder and copy/paste them after a patch when i experience the issue.

Tried this recently and it did not work. It will happen to 1 or 2 characters on an account and the other ones will be fine. I want to play and enjoy Everquest. When this happens i feel like just quitting and going onto other games, thus the on and off part. This doesn't happen to me in any other mmo i have ever played.

What am i doing wrong and how do i fix it to a previous version? If i can't change it back that is fine as long as i can get a solution so when it happens again i will be able to copy/paste the correct files to fix it. EDIT: Once i did the copy/paste of those files i still needed to log into the character and under general options click on copy layout and choose that character. That seems to work but how do i prevent everything from messing up in the first place?
  2. SunDrake Augur

This is just one suggestion, but make the changes you'd like to see to your UI. Then fully log out. Don't use /q or the fast camp option.

Also, do you ever log in using different window modes? I know if I accidentally log in full screen things are moved slightly, as my windows are set for windowed mode.
    Xenze likes this.
  3. Xenze Elder

Are you using a custom UI by chance?