Im confused there are multi of the same zone why so many servers?

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by PirateLordCarroll, Mar 22, 2020.

1. PirateLordCarroll Journeyman

From what I gather from the tutorial and everything there are multi instances of every zone. I see FV has a totally different rule set, but why so many servers? Shouldn't there just be 1 live server that has a bunch of instances, or am I missing something?
  2. Irongron New Member

Well, when the game was created, there was no tutorial, there were no instances zones...over time things changed, its not "like' other games in its creation but has evolved over time.
    Xianzu_Monk_Tunare likes this.
  3. Iven Antonius Bayle

There was a tutorial right from the start but it was a separate exe file. You can download it from my webspace. :cool:
    Laerkai likes this.
  4. Herf Augur

When I started playing, when Kunark released, at login you could see how many people were active at that moment on each server. I'm getting old so I can't recall if it was 2000, or 4000. Either way, that was the max number of simultaneous players each server supported. So to support a large user base, you need more servers.
  5. Finfan Augur

In the olden days this game was the hottest MMORPG around. The newbie zones in every continent were busy, and they had to have a lot of servers to handle the number of players. Remember we're talking about the tech of 20 years ago. Since then they have merged many of the original servers. The multiple zones with very similar names are specifically for raids or what they call "instanced" zones that only one group can enter at a time. I think that is how it works anyway. I was only ever on one raid and I was insta-killed so I don't really know much about them. So, that sorta explains the structure.
  6. Chikkin Augur

Hated when they changed that because people either said they had a dead server, or that obviously they needed a server split.

Can't blame them though.