2h vs Dual Wield

Discussion in 'Hybrid' started by Davall, Mar 10, 2020.

1. Davall New Member

Assuming similar weapon tiers, is one superior to the other? I have been Dual Wielding (lvl 96.6 now) and would hate to find out that 2h is superior by a significant amount.

Thanks.
  2. Derka Power Ranger

What class are you?
  3. Szilent Augur

changes as levels & AA advance & change

there is no sacrifice in keeping all weapon skills up
  4. Fintank Augur

Assuming you're a BL or a Ranger.

Ranger has never been 2hander DPS optimal since I started playing 1 in TBM. I've TLP'd 1 from RoF as well and still not 2hander based. Feel pretty safe in assuming they never have been in any relatively modern expansion.

Beastlords are more 2hander based once they start getting the chunky procs. Would be worth checking from EOK expansion and onwards. Good luck!
  5. Davall New Member

Yeah, sorry. I am playing a BL. Keeping skills up is not an issue as it takes about 30 seconds after a level at this point, but I just want to make sure I am not shorting myself 10-15% or something.
  6. Cloud the Third Augur

2H is probably better if you need to tank and can't use a shield otherwise I don't think BL ever were very good with 2H.
  7. Waldagar Augur

Just normal sustained DPS without any burns running, 2HB is only around 80% of DW. A fast 2HB with 23 delay and a big proc can produce better DPS during the 45 seconds of a burn with bloodlust running.

A slows 2HB with 36 delay can be useful if you need to beat on something with a big damage shield.
    -Z-
    Zanarnar likes this.
  8. Davall New Member

I have been sticking with dual wield because it "feels" like more DPS (seems like even con mobs in HA's die consistently quicker, I am not the parsing type). I will make sure I have a 2h with me at all times just in case and at higher levels if I get a decent one.

Thanks for the input, all.
  9. ShadowMan Augur