What to do in CotF?

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by Accipiter, Jan 31, 2020.

1. Accipiter Old Timer

Phinny has finally reached the point where I quit live so I have no experience with this expansion. Last night was my first experience in CotF. I just picked a spot in Neriak 4th Gate to burn Lesson and get a feel. By the way, I'm a grouping 5-boxer. No raid gear but I'm T4 group geared from RoF.

To my knowledge, I have never done a Heroic Adventure. I liked DoDH and all the missions it gave us. Then I came to hate missions by the time I got through VoA (flying around on a clockwork helicopter and the like was a new low point for EQ). I suppose HAs are similar to previous expansion missions.

What is your advice? Should I do HAs or just do the normal XP thing in open zones? I guess at some point I'll need HAs for the Marks of Valor?

I guess I'm just looking for any feedback you have on CotF.
  2. Dythan Ban Lev in Plane of Fire guy

HAs are more akin to LDoN. Easy group instance with 3-4 kill/collect steps. As your own group, with practice and a little gear, you will be able to clear 3 in the lesson burns window, netting about 100 AA. The marks will be good to supplement gear and augs too.

The overall achievements for CoTF have good rewards too, in the form of heroic AA's, so look into all of those.
  3. Aueman Journeyman

In terms of just straight XP, you'll find that doing most HA's will net you more xp in the time it takes to do them then just straight xp grinding in zones. In particular Gribbles HA's in Dead Hills are really straight forward and quick, and will net 20 aa's or so upon completion. If you have lesson, or XP pots it can be even more. With lesson running last night we were getting 40+ aa's per 1 HA.

HA's in CoTF are much different than the group missions you were doing in VoA, and not nearly as annoying. The steps in the tasks are mostly made up of kill so and so number of mobs, or loot so and so number of items.