Fundraising for QoL-features viable?

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by IblisTheMage, Jan 11, 2019.

1. IblisTheMage Augur

I was wondering if it would be possible to start a fundraiser for a single (DBS pre approved) QoL feature, and then transfer the money to DBG if they would add extra resources to get that feature done.

The feature could be something from the QoL-thread, based on a vote, and then the collection would be for that item.

I have zero experience with this...

Any thoughts?
    Pirlo likes this.
  2. Fanra https://everquest.fanra.info

Not seeing it as viable. The people who work on EverQuest have gained knowledge about the game backend over time. You can't just slot in someone from outside (assuming you raise enough funds for this) and expect them to do anything.

The only way I could see it work would be if you actually raised enough funds to hire someone to be added to the staff permanently; or get someone who was laid off or left to come back just to do this (short term contract).
    IblisTheMage and Tucoh like this.
  3. Pirlo Augur

We would need to talk to the devs bosses boss, and ask if we can do that.
    Problem is, no one has a direct line to the person calling the shots.
  4. Tucoh Augur

Youd be better off contacting devs directly and asking thrm how much their evenings / weekends are worth to them!
    IblisTheMage likes this.
  5. Fanra https://everquest.fanra.info

Wait, they have evenings and weekends free? o_O
  6. shiftie Augur

People need to stop acting like this is a non profit organization.

They took your money already. The expectation should be that they act as a good steward of the money already received.
    Feznik, Jhenna_BB and Act of Valor like this.
  7. Aurastrider Augur