Need advice on my setup on FV

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Risiko, Jan 8, 2019.

1. Risiko Augur

My brother and I started playing on FV recently, and we currently are playing a SK, Monk, and Enchanter with 3 mercenaries.

I play the Shadow Knight and Enchanter, but there are two problems. First problem is that I am probably the worst person in the world when it comes to boxing. I suck at it. When the crap hits the fan, I tend to focus on one character or the other, and that ends up leading to a fast wipe. It's interesting how EQ is a slow paced game, but when things go bad, it happens in milliseconds, but that's another topic entirely.

Having the third account is preferable if anything just to have a third merc at all times. But, I feel like I am not doing either of us any favors playing an enchanter lol.

By the way, this is a level 75 group right now.

Question number 1... Do you really need a crowd control in modern EverQuest, or can I replace my enchanter with something else (like a wizard, druid, mage, shaman, etc)?

Question number 2... Does slow really do anything in modern EQ that makes it so that I need an enchanter or shaman in group? I ask because almost everything I slow says it was partially successful. That makes me wonder if it was necessary to even slow if it wasn't fully effective.

Question number 3.... With what class would you replace the enchanter, and why?
  2. jeskola pheerie

Depends on your goals. If you want to push the limit and tackle difficult named and missions, enchanter is pretty awesome. All the buffs, slow/cripple (mental contortion is awesome), group DPS burn AA, CC, melee and spell group runes are huge, etc.

For grinding xp/AA, no, you don't need all that, and a Mage would be the best replacement.
    Risiko likes this.
  3. Smokezz The Bane Crew