What is the difference between a "skilled" player and an "average" player?

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Rizzin, Oct 18, 2018.

1. Rizzin Elder

As a bit of background, I've been playing an Enchanter since 1999, a Necro since 2000. Of course I've played pretty much everything else since then, but always return to these two as my mains. I'm not a raider, though I have been in family guilds the entire time; I have raided, mostly Fear and Hate back in the days of Epic 1.0, which I found tedious, so I've not experienced most of the raid content since 2000.

There have been some recent, fascinating threads (to me) on classes, raid make up and player skill. I noticed that player skill was mentioned more than once and it got me to wondering, what the Guild Leaders see that is different between a good and average player.

I am always interested in how to be a better player, so I ask those that see lots of different people playing, what makes a good player better than an average player, such that you would be interested in adding them to your guild regardless of recruitment openings?
    snailish likes this.
  2. Horyuken Augur

My two cents.

I started playing online games seriously with Age of Empires.

I watched hours of recorded games to get batter and noticed two reoccurring themes. Knowing how the software would react, and actions per minute.

These pretty much what hold true with all games, watch the Overwatch league on Espn or Disney and those guys never stop moving or clicking, they know every hole in the geometry and how each weapon will react.

Everquest is the same way, the high DPS guilds who dominate the game simply push more buttons and use more of games small bonus to their advantage. Gina has a great tool that will compare casts between any numbers of players, if someone of the same class has 100 more casts per fight then you they will always have a better parse, it's just simple math.