Is the game getting better?

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Reynos06, Jun 11, 2018.

1. Reynos06 New Member

I played everquest more than was probably healthy for years from original until TSS, but after that I just didn't enjoy the game. Every new expansion was focused on endgame content and with each year it was harder to find a group. I kept playing on and off for awhile after that, but with mercenaries and level cap shooting up every expansion, i spent more time soloing than anything else so I quit for 4 years. I just started playing again last week and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The most recent expansions seem to be trying to bring the game back to a more community based game with the better tradeskills gear, and most of the new zones tied into the lore of classic eq. Even tho 90% of zones are still empty, I am seeing people frequently lfg again. Since I haven't done any endgame content since the level cap was 70, I am curious if y'all feel the game is getting better.

Also just to throw this out there since I'm asking for opinions anyway, some things I still would want to see in future expansions are:
    1. They need to add new content to older zones instead of just adding new ones. I don't mean newer versions of zones, just reasons to make people go there like they did with raising tradeskill cap. There are literally hundreds of zones that never have anyone in them.
    2. The game currently begins at lvl 85-90. There needs to be some form of motivation to get people playing lower characters again instead of PLing and Merc soloing.
    3. Nerf and/or add a penalty to mercenaries. Get people playing real healers again or learn how to solo. I actually met a guy who didn't realize you get more exp without a group because he'd been playing with a Merc since day 1.