Unpaid interns that work from home.

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by zipzap, Feb 16, 2017.

1. zipzap New Member

Get to beta test the latest versions of games, all while providing your input to make sure the games achieve the highest level of success. This should be a core framework of daybreak. The more talented and brightest could go on to specialized school, paid for daybreak on the condition that they put a 15 year stint in the company. Why isn't this happening? Why aren't these games being designed by the users, who start out as unpaid interns full of bright ideas? What has daybreak got to lose?
  2. Nolrog Augur

Look up Microsoft Temp Workers lawsuit. That's why.
  3. Prathun Developer

I am not a lawyer, but I've spent a few minutes today reading up on California labor laws and it looks to be inadvisable, putting it mildly, from a legal perspective, to implement an unpaid internship program with the intent of getting free, productive work from that program.

A lawsuit.
  4. natefu New Member

Ok, alternative idea. Daybreak adopts a ton of kids. Puts them to work testing. Bam, family Business. Bullet-proof.
    Vrinda and Prathun like this.
  5. Galidin Journeyman

On the other hand exchanging work for Food is a core principal of Prathun's over 10 years of service. He negotiated doggy bags into his most recent promotion.

Galidin

:D
    Corwyhn Lionheart likes this.
  6. Aghinem Augur

That lawsuit had to do with temp workers who were 1099-Misc independent contractors being treated like employees. When you're a 1099, you are essentially self-employed and are suppose to be the master of your own time. Because Microsoft inappropriately treated them as employees, it was considered 'misclassification of employment status' - which is a good way to get the IRS to audit someone.

The problem is companies not only have to abide by Federal labor laws, but State labor laws as well. Let me sum up the legal requirements: